the green smoothie- you know you want to!

sometimes i think of the green smoothie as somewhat of an urban legend. its the drink that skinny bitches pretend to love because it helps them stay ‘healthy’ (read: skinny), and health nuts the world over can’t get enough of.

since i’m no skinny bitch, i guess you can call me a health nut. and i’m totally obsessed with the green smoothie.

what could be better? it tastes like creamy, fruity deliciousness, but also packs in (at least!) a serving of veggies!

don't you dare tell me that doesn't look delicious.

and, for those of you that struggle with sugar cravings.. these have helped me SO much! as someone that always needs something sweet after every meal, the green smoothie is my perfect lunch. it’s sweet (from fruit!) and tastes like dessert, but i’m still getting protein and veggies… score!

Here’s my go-to green smoothie recipe:

-2-3 huge handfuls of spinach (can also used frozen chopped.. about 1 cup)

-1/2 frozen banana

-1 medjool date, pitted

-1 scoop protein powder (i use vanilla sun warrior)

-1 cup almond milk

all of my ingredients.. feel free to mix yours up a little 🙂

Add everything to blender. Blend until smooth. Pour into cup/mug/bowl/whatever. Lick the blender… then drink the smoothie.

*note: adding a frozen banana instead of a fresh one really kicks up the cold, creamy factor. i like to compare it to when i was a kid and i used to let my ice cream melt a little so it would be like cold, creamy soup. for some tips on how to successfully freeze a banana, click here.

Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers is one of my favorite bloggers… and she has a super cute dog 🙂

What crazy health foods have you tried? Are you already a green smoothie freak like me?

Leave a comment