the why.

 

IMG_5110

not to brag, but I ran up here- Twin Peaks, SF

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind, and i can only imagine the next few will pass by in a similar manner. a week left in SF, a week in Southern CA, and then two on the east coast before I begin what can only be defined as the next chapter in my somewhat short but continuously growing life-book. I’ve actually knocked off quite a few of my bucket list items, with more left to go as time ticks away. I have to note that the list that lives here on this site has morphed into something completely different in my head, and although I have only completed 4 or so on the original list, at least twelve items have been crossed off the somewhat more nebulous list I’ve managed to create in my own mind. Turns out, when you put your mind to it, there are probably about a billion stones left unturned in a city you feel like you already have a firm grasp on.

Full moon from Bernal Heights, complete with tree swings to play on

Full moon from Bernal Heights, complete with tree swings to play on

grace cathedral yoga!

grace cathedral yoga!

Oh, the point of all this? Yeah, I’ll get to it.

I’m really trying not to think of my life in California as a an hourglass- time ticking away until I blast east-wards, but its hard to do!  The truth is I actually DO only have X amount of days left and I the goal is to maximize the time left. Not that I’m second guessing myself (ok, maybe a tiny bit when one of those moments hit when I realize I’m REALLY enjoying yourself, but not enough to damage my plans), but I have been thinking a lot about the WHY behind this major life change.What are the external and internal influencers that have encouraged this decision, and ultimately, is this the best thing for me right now?

family vacay to Cyprus, circa 2008-ish?

family vacay to Cyprus, circa 2008-ish? yeah, I’m the TALL one!

So, then, WHY?

1. Family. At 93 and 88 respectively, my grandpa and grandma are a wealth of information, history and love that I don’t feel I have completely tapped into. Largely due to time zones, work/school commitments and the hefty price of plane travel (and unfortunate unavailability of the Floo network.. Harry Potter fans.. anyone? anyone?). I have definitely not spent enough time with family.. probably ever. I can’t wait to spend more time with my cousins, aunts and uncles, and brush up on my British humor and Jewish traditions (read: recipes and Manischevitz).

2. THE BUG. The travel bug is a mean one- unlike a mosquito bite, if you don’t scratch it, it sure as hell isn’t going away. I am going to scratch that motherfucker hard, long and good. (sorry grandma, I know you’re reading this right now!).

i mean, why WOULDNT I go in search of more of this?

i mean, why WOULDNT I go in search of more of this?

3. Languages. Although I only currently speak two, I can feel that numbers three and four can’t be too far off- Portuguese is most likely first up, then probably French or Italian.

4. Spain. The year I lived in Spain was definitely a highlight in the scrapbook that is my life, and not a week goes by when I don’t daydream about returning and throwing myself back into the language, culture and lifestyle. Living with my host family was an experience I can’t begin to explain- coming from such a non-traditional family background to living with a ‘normal’ nuclear family gave me a taste of what that life can be like, and I can’t wait to see them again!

5. Everywhere else. I close my eyes and see beaches, mountains, cobblestone streets, unreadable street signs and hostel bunk beds. The draw of these images in my brain is enough to keep me up at night, and although (of course) not a single plane, train or event ticket has been purchased, it WILL happen. All of it. All the time, and everywhere.

different oceans, higher cliffs, more hikes, please!

different oceans, higher cliffs, more hikes, please!

 

I say this honestly, earnestly and anxiously- keep up with me! Whether you want to plan a trip to Europe (to come visit, duh), just say hello, or let me know you hate/love/want to be featured on the blog- let me know!

I don’t know where I’ll end up, who I’ll end up with, why I’ll end up there or how long I’ll stay, but a few friends joining the adventure (either virtually or in person) will always be welcome! In the meantime, keep following me here- I’ll do my best to keep the blog updated with adventures, recommendations and random ramblings.

 

Leave a Reply

