festival fever, and how to fight it.

 

by attending more festivals, duh!IMG_4980

After the epic weekend that was coachella, I am fiending for more. Apparently only one weekend of eargasms is not enough for this girl, so this week I started doing some research on festivals and outdoor concerts in Europe this summer. I was BLOWN AWAY by how many options there are.  Apart from the big players, ya know, your Glastonbury Festivals and Tomorrowlands, I’ve got at least 15 other choices over the months of June, July and August, and with the Amsterdam Dance Event in October, it looks like I’m set until its time to hibernate for winter. Here are my picks so far (based mainly on lineup and if I could decipher whatever language the festival website was in) .. help me narrow this down!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Eurockeenes– July 4-6- Belfort, France Lineup highlights: Black Keys, Gramatik, Jungle, MO, M.I.A.

Optimus Alive– July 10-12- Lisbon, Portugal: Frontrunner so far. Lineup highlights: Black Keys, Ben Howard, Chromeo, Diplo, Nicolas Jaar, and more to come! HOLY SHITBALLS.

glitch mob, coachella weekend 1!

Glitch Mob, Coachella Weekend 1

Tomorrowland– July 18-20 and 25-27- Belgium. Lineup highlights: literally every electronic artist I like. (Sold out, but let me daydream a bit about it anyways.)

Positivus Festival– 18-20 July- Latvia. Lineup highlights: Ellie Goulding, Bastille, MO, Junip, Of Montreal

Dance Valley– 2 August- Netherlands. Lineup highlights: Showtek, Paul Oakenfold

Do Lab, Coachella Weekend 1

Do Lab, Coachella Weekend 1

Arenal Sound– July 29-August 3. Burriana, Spain. Lineup highlights: Knife Party, Matt and Kim, Die Antwoord

Mysteryland:  – August 23- Amsterdam. Another frontrunner! Lineup highlights: Martin Garrix, Hardwell, Steve Aoki, Nervo

Way Out West -August 7-9- Sweden. Royksopp and Robyn, Janelle Monae, Icona Pop, Mo, Darkside, Polica

Wish this lovely lady could join me- great festival partner!

Berlin Festival- Sept 5-7. Berlin. Woodkid, Moderat, Darkside, Chase and Status

Amsterdam Dance Event. – October 15-19. Amsterdam. No lineup yet as far as I can tell, but it sounds like the event is along the lines of SXSW- events held all over Amsterdam in clubs and venues, along with a conference.

_____________________________________________________________________

While I work on narrowing this list down a little, I’ll be enjoying my last few weeks in the states. Coming up- road trip to Southern CA and on the 20th of May I’m off to New York City for my little brother’s college graduation (it’s about damn time!) (kidding, I’m proud of the lil guy!)

 

of course, a Coachella ferris wheel shot

of course, a Coachella ferris wheel shot

Any other can’t-miss festivals that aren’t on this list? Any friends want to join in on the adventure? If you missed my last post, I’m working on knocking things off my San Francisco bucket list– any takers for some fun adventures in or out of the states this year?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “festival fever, and how to fight it.

  1. Eurockeenes and Way out West! And it made me swell with pride to see the Die Antwoord shutout. As my Euro Fest surrogate, I am wondering where that Barcelona fest is though!

Leave a Reply

