hold please.

I am in the middle of drafting my “where I stayed- Peru” post, but thought I would interrupt with a few thoughts on returning home (mostly since the Peru part of the hostel recap is taking forever- I stayed at a lot of places.. and I have lots of opinions!)

IMG_4425

the first thing I thought when I walked into my room at home in San Francisco on Monday was.. holy shit, I have SO MUCH STUFF. seriously, coming back to my existing closet after 3 months of only wearing what I could fit in a 65 liter backpack was like stepping into my very own buffalo exchange, but I didn’t have to pay to wear anything and none of it smelled weird. (for you foreigners reading this, buffalo exchange is a second hand clothing store, but with nice stuff).

cause really, isn't all you need a hammock and a pair of board shorts?

cause really, isn’t all you need a hammock and a pair of board shorts?

I’ve officially started the cleaning out my life process. How on earth did I become the owner of so many items that are completely unnecessary to my day-to-day existence? Do I really need fourteen pairs of jeans? For the next few weeks, I’ll be working on minimizing.. because honestly, all I really want to wear is my alpaca sweater and yoga pants. (otherwise known as my travel uniform).

i need to do laundry so i can wear this outfit again..

i need to do laundry so i can wear this outfit again..

I’ve also spent almost every morning at my favorite coffee shop in the Mission. One of the few things that I actually missed about being home was the abundance of deliciously overpriced coffee that we have in San Francisco. I swear, you can’t turn around in this neighborhood without getting smacked in the face by a 3 dollar cup of hand-roasted fair trade small-batch coffee. And what goes better with a Macbook air and a self-serving amateur blog than fancy coffee?

pretty much sums up San Francisco

pretty much sums up San Francisco

Vegetables are freaking amazing. In the last seven days, I have bought and consumed no fewer than four bunches of kale. I think after three months of ‘almuerzos’, consisting mainly of meat, rice and potatoes, my body was craving home cooked food and plenty of greens. I feel great, although I do miss having the option to eat guinea pig or a whole trout for lunch.

after our hike in Cajas, Ecuador

after our hike in Cajas, Ecuador

I felt like I was pretty active on my trip, but there is definitely something to be said for having gym access and actually setting aside time for exercise. It feels great to be back in the groove of getting a real workout in every day, but I am taking it slow and not pushing myself too hard right off the bat. I pulled out the TRX for a workout on Friday and am still feeling it today- but it feels goooooooood. Not to mention yoga… sweet sweet yoga stretches. My hamstrings thank you.

the top of a 1000 meter climb.. talk about a workout

the top of a 1000 meter climb.. talk about a workout

Cant believe its already time to ‘spring forward’! Are we really already 1/4 of the way through 2014? For those of you in the states, how pumped are you to have an extra hour of sun today?

not SF

not SF

Leave a Reply

