desert, dune buggies and a visit from dad

in real life (ie. not what I’m living right now), we all have our slumps and grooves- days or weeks on end in which you feel like you’re totally killing it or just can’t seem to get your shoes on the right feet. traveling, as different as it is, offers the same ups and downs.

Paracas from the balcony of a REAL hotel. which was way less awesome than i expected it to be

Paracas from the balcony of a REAL hotel. which was way less awesome than i expected it to be

I’m not the type to post Facebook statuses or write a blog entry every time I have a sleepless night on a bus, get woken up at 5 am by rowdy teenagers coming back in from the bars, or feel a little lonely, because thats just not my style. The reality is, though, that funks still happen in my travel-dream-world, just as they would back at home. luckily, these funks have been few and far between- one night in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador, another couple hours in Huaraz, so exhausted from my trek that I couldn’t even muster the energy to find food for dinner, a day in Baños when it seemed like every traveling group i came across was a couple. over the last two months, I’ve been lucky enough to have very few bad days, and in the last few weeks it seems like I’ve really hit my stride.

up the dunes in Huacachina

up the dunes in Huacachina

so where have I been since my Huaraz/Santa Cruz adventure?

for one, dad came to visit! those of you that are not familiar with this guy, he’s probably the one to blame for my wandering spirit. So when he jokingly asked if he could come join me a few weeks ago, I didn’t doubt for a second that he would actually make it, and was pretty excited about the prospect of living a non-dirtbag backpacker lifestyle for a few days. Dad got here a couple days before his birthday, and after a couple of pisco sours to celebrate his arrival, we headed south to Paracas, then to Huacachina, a destination that was on my list from day one- you’re about to see why!

drinks with dad

drinks with dad

ill let the pictures do the talking here, because i really can’t explain how much fun sand boarding and dune bugging is. you know how roller coasters are awesome? this is better.

the oasis in all its glory

the oasis in all its glory

IMG_4428

dad, sitting pretty before screaming his way down the dunes on a sand board

dad, sitting pretty before screaming his way down the dunes on a sand board

 

thats a whole lot of grains of sand...

thats a whole lot of grains of sand…

Huacachina was really where I really started to feel like I was hitting my stride- I met some awesome people, Dad had a great time, and I headed off to Arequipa (where I am writing this from) with a giant smile on my face.

fun with these guys...

fun with these guys…

and these guys.. can't beat juicy alpaca steaks and 2x1 pisco

and these guys.. can’t beat juicy alpaca steaks and 2×1 pisco

Tomorrow morning I’m rolling myself out of bed at the crack of dawn and heading to the Colca Canyon with a rag-tag group- 6 of us from all corners of the world. Lets see how much trouble we can cause in 3 days in the mountains…

Leave a Reply

