eat-in day 1: my first foray into nut butter

SUCCESSSSSSS!

i finally made my own nut butter and it turned out amazingly. so buttery, so smooth, lightly sweetened and fragrant with the scents of vanilla and cinnamon.

wowie.

and SO easy!

i started with 1 cup of dry roasted unsalted almonds.

pellegrino in the background.. im so euro

put it in the food processor.

process for about 5 minutes (nuts will get crumbly, but you’ve still got a while before they get buttery)

hello crumbles! you will soon be buttah!

add scant 1/2 tsp salt. process about 5 more minutes.

add 1 tsp (or a little more, depending on your taste) of maple syrup, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp cinnamon.

process more. eventually the nut crumbles will get smoother and start to clump together. ALMOST THERE!!!!

now that's more like it

when fully butter-ized, scrape out of processor (with your mouth… no… just kidding!) into a jar or tupperware.

congratulations to me. i just made my first batch of nut butter. and it tastes like heaven.

here’s what i ate for lunch beforehand-

eggs, veggie burger, avocado, spinach and LOTS of ketchup!

yay for eating in! this whole meal took me about 10 minutes to make.. and only cost about $1.50!

how’s your day going? did you make your lunch, or did you succumb to the take-out demons?

2 thoughts on “eat-in day 1: my first foray into nut butter

  1. I saw your link on a comment on a carrots n cake post, and I thought I’d stop by since I am a new blogger too! Funnily enough I was thinking about making almond butter today!!! I have a bunch of almonds and forgot to get almond butter at the store this week. Looks like I found a solution!

    • yay! thanks for stopping by 🙂

      you have to try this almond butter… so good! try adding a teaspoon of a light tasting oil if its a little dry.

      ill also be posting a recipe for whole wheat almond butter zucchini bread this week that is to DIE for. so good.

Leave a Reply

