Monday funday? More like monday no-sun-day.

Wow, full nights sleep last night (9.5 hours) and a few free hours in the morning before I head to Crossfit, lunch with a friend and then work! Oh, and a free car wash.. thanks rain! I took advantage of the couple of free hours I had this morning to try out a recipe I’ve had brewing in my head for a while…

Occasionally, I’ll make something that turns out so amazingly delicious I feel like I have to share it. In the past, when that happened I was completely screwed because I never wrote my recipes down and most of the time my measurements were more like half a handful and a pinch more rather than 1/2 a cup and 2 tablespoons.

Luckily, I’ve become slightly more organized when it comes to my cooking. Actually, I’ve become slightly more organized in regards to my life in general. I enter in appointments and dates in my calendar, I do my laundry before I run out of clean underwear, and I generally wash my dishes the same day that I use them. I’ve even organized all my bills to be paid online and on time. And, best of all (in my opinion) I’ve started writing down my recipes as I go so that I can share them with you (and maybe one day someone will surprise me by making one of them for me to try).

Today, the recipe du jour (is that redundant?) is a red quinoa and sweet potato salad inspired by one of the deliciously expensive salads in the Whole Foods deli case.

Red Quinoa Salad

my first thought.. dammit i should have doubled the recipe.

 

 


 

Ingredients:

2 small sweet potatoes/yams (cut into 1/2 inch pieces)

1 cup red quinoa

1/2 red onion (diced)

3 cloves garlic (chopped)

2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

1 tablespoon sesame oil (i bet toasted sesame oil would be even better!)

1/4 tsp ginger powder (i think fresh grated would bring out more ginger flavor.. but i didn’t have any)

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp honey

2-3 shakes black pepper

Directions:

1. Bring a small pot of water to a boil and add cut sweet potatoes. (I never peel my sweet potatoes because the skin is full of nutrients, but if you don’t like the skin, feel free to remove it). Boil until you can pierce with a fork (about 10 minutes, maybe less depending on how small you cut the potatoes.

2. In a separate pot, bring 1.5 cups of water and 1 cup of red quinoa to a boil, then simmer until all water has been soaked up. (about 15 minutes).

3. To prepare dressing, mix together in a small bowl: garlic, sesame oil, salt, pepper, honey, ginger and rice wine vinegar. Set aside.

4. Once sweet potatoes are cooked enough to pierce with a fork (but still firm), drain and rinse with cold water and place in a mixing bowl. Add diced red onion.

5. Drain and rinse quinoa once water is fully absorbed and quinoa is cooked. (you will be able to fluff it with a fork and it’ll be a little chewy.)

6. Add quinoa to same mixing bowl and pour dressing over. Toss to coat. Serve right away slightly warm, or store in fridge and enjoy cold. I added some fresh baby spinach to mine and will be devouring most of it for lunch at work later today!

Note: my goal is that by reading and trying out my recipes, not only is your life made a little bit easier (most, if not all, can be stored and eaten at a later date), but you can try new, healthier foods that taste amazing! Please let me know if you try any of these recipes.. If you can make them better, or if you have any feedback please let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

