you wouldn’t believe me if i told you!

Eighteen years ago, my parents offered me $500 to eat a salad. I turned them down. Until I was about 15 years old, I refused to eat anything green. From about 15 to 18, my preferred salad was a caesar.. which I insisted was healthy. These days.. if its green, I’ll eat it.

Today, I got my greens in the form of brussels sprouts. This is not only one of the easiest veggies to cook EVER… but it also may be one of the most delicious.

so full of these little suckers....

The whole process from start to finish took me about 25 minutes and I only used 5 ingredients. Brussels sprouts are also RIDICULOUSLY good for you and very filling!

Here’s how I made them.. super easy and really delicious!

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Pull sprouts off stalk and rinse.

3. chop sprouts in half and toss on a baking sheet with olive oil, salt, and pepper. You want to make sure that you have enough olive oil to coat the sprouts. Drizzle balsamic over the top and toss one more time (I added about 2-3 tablespoons.. but could have gone with more).

4. Roast for about 18-20 minutes, flipping once.

The balsamic vinegar becomes tangy and a little sweet in the roasting process.. adding to the delicious roasted flavor of the sprouts… seriously TRY THIS. This is also a great holiday recipe if you need something super quick and easy to take to a potluck.. and you’ll save money by eating something that’s in season!

Living in California, it’s a little bit more difficult to be aware of what foods are in season and what aren’t, as everything is available to us year-round. However, your body craves different foods at different times of the year, due to changes in temperature and climate.

If you think about it, this makes perfect sense. Most people don’t crave watermelon in the middle of winter! During cooler months, a lot of the foods you may find your body asking for are heartier, and luckily nature is right on board with that, as many heartier foods come into season in the cooler months. During late fall and winter, look for artichokes, avocados, brussels sprouts, all kinds of squash (except summer, duh), kale, sweet potatoes, bananas, oranges, kiwi, and persimmons to name a few.

Eating seasonally is not only cheaper, but more delicous. Ever tried strawberries in winter? Not so tasty. Sweet potatoes in summer? Teeny tiny.. and very pricy.

Try eating seasonally for a few meals this week.. I’m definitely enjoying the winter fruits and veggies!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

