when inspiration hits you…

In the last 24 hours, I have made (all from scratch) spinach hummus, butternut squash gnocchi with sage and onion butter, walnut pesto and fall spiced date loaf.

Suck on that Ina Garten! (for those of you that do not watch the food network religiously, she is the barefoot contessa.. and rivals Paula Deen for butter’s biggest fan)

yes, the gnocchi look like brains on purpose

Why the sudden cooking frenzy!?

Well, why not?

It has been a very busy few days… trying to get ready for my trip, work, friends… and then the cooking.

When inspiration strikes me, I find it is in my best interests to just go with it. Usually it ends well. Occasionally it can be disastrous… and we’re not just talking about the kitchen here! Sometimes it is a terrible idea to go running after being out all night drinking, no matter how ‘inspired’ I feel. I’m sure you can relate.

In case you have some time this week to get ‘inspired,’ here’s another easy recipe to fill your hungry belly:

Spinach Hummus

Ingredients:

1 can garbanzo beans (rinsed and drained)

2 cloves chopped garlic

1 huge handful of spinach

1.5 tbsp olive oil

1.5 tbsp tahini

1/2 tsp cumin

juice of 1 lemon

salt/pepper to taste

Directions:

Put everything in your food processor or hefty blender. Blend until smooth. Add extra olive oil if mixture is too thick for your liking (I like my hummus like I like my…. that was about to get wierd. Basically I like thick hummus)

The lemon gives it a little tang, garlic and cumin a little spice, and the spinach honestly was just for color and nutrition… you can’t taste it at ALL. (I only threw it in there cause I didn’t want to eat boring beige food.

 


Leave a Reply

