the shakes

As much as I love and defend my coffee addiction, I definitely realize why it really isn’t considered part of a healthy balanced diet. As I am writing this, I am tapping my feet uncontrollably, my eyes are darting back and forth, and my typing is a mess because of my jittery hands. All of this from an 8oz cup of coffee!? Ugh, I’m such a lightweight!

Which brings me to addictions. We are all addicted to something, and I guarantee whatever it is, there is a term and definition for it. No joke, you can actually have an addiction to anime. And people pleasing. Just to name a few.. trust me, they get much weirder.

I have a few addictions myself, apart from my aforementioned love of coffee. One of them is to endorphins. The natural high you get off of raising your heart rate and breaking a sweat is pretty much the best feeling ever. After a yoga class, I have to keep my phone out of reach, otherwise pretty much everyone I know will end up with long messages about how amazing they are and how much I appreciate them (drunk dialing is so 2009, 2010 is all about post-workout dialing). Another addiction I have is to technology. I feel like I always have to be ‘plugged’ in. I can be sitting on the couch, watching tv, checking facebook, and texting….all at the same time. Seriously, there has to be something wrong with that.

No complaints really though… It could be MUCH worse.

I think I might be getting addicted to blogging. Well, maybe not. But all jokes aside, here’s a delicious recipe I threw together from the depleted depths of my fridge/cupboards. (I seriously need to go to the grocery store)

Spaghetti squash with red quinoa, garbanzos and spinach

Ingredients:

-1 whole spaghetti squash

-2 cups water

-1 cup red quinoa

-1 can garbanzo beans

-3 tbsp tomato paste

-1 tsp Italian seasoning

-1 cup stock (veggie or chicken.. I used chicken)

-3 small garlic cloves chopped

-Salt/pepper to taste

-1 tsp balsamic vinegar

-1 tbsp storebought pesto

-1 tbsp olive oil

-a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach

Method:

Cut spaghetti squash in half lengthwise and place facedown in a greased pan. Cook in 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes, or until you can pierce it with a fork. remove from oven and let sit for about 15 minutes. In the meantime, cook 1 cup quinoa according to directions.

Make the sauce for the quinoa by combining stock, tomato paste, garlic, pesto, balsamic and italian seasoning in a small saucepan. Let simmer for about 5 minutes. Open garbanzo can and rinse. Once quinoa is cooked, combine garbanzos, sauce and quinoa together.

Now the fun part: Turn to your spaghetti squash, fork in hand. Scrape inner flesh of squash with the fork. It will come out in spaghetti-like strands. Place in bowl and toss with 1tbsp olive oil.

Serve a bed of spaghetti squash with quinoa/garbanzo mix on top, garnished with a handful or so of fresh spinach. The combo of textures is awesome. And this meal will DEFINITELY fill you up.. it’s a protein powerhouse!

 

 

Leave a Reply

