October already!?!?

so good I refilled the bowl again!

Is it really October? Where did summer go? Oh wait.. we didn’t get one this year!

I went for a run today along the beach and checked out some of the ridiculous houses along the way. My favorites on my normal route are the one with the stained glass Last Supper window (complete with red Cadillac in the driveway tagged with the slogan “STOP! Without Jesus we are nothing!”) and the one with the full Halloween graveyard out front. WHAT?! How is it almost Halloween?

No complaints though, I love fall food! Sweet potatoes (which I literally live on in fall/winter), squash of all shapes and sizes, and pumpkin! Yum. I baked up a butternut squash today and I probably could have eaten the whole thing plain with a spoon. That stuff is DELICIOUS.. and lucky for me its also super good for you! Butternut squash is full of fiber, potassium, and vitamin C, and sweet potatoes have loads of vitamins A and C!

Since it seems like fall is upon us, I put together something for my lunches this week that I think seems like of fall-ish (but I might be wrong.. either way its pretty tasty.)

Red Quinoa Salad with Garbanzos and Dried Cranberries

-1 cup red quinoa

-2 cups water

-1/2 cup chopped walnuts

-1/2 red onion (diced)

-2 cloves garlic (chopped)

-1 can garbanzo beans

-1/2 cup dried cranberries

-2 tbsp red wine vinegar

-1 tbsp toasted sesame oil

-salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Combine water and quinoa in a pot and bring to a boil. Turn down to a simmer and cover for about 15-20 minutes or until water is absorbed and quinoa is cooked. Cool quinoa in the fridge until room temp or cooler. In the meantime, combine red wine vinegar, sesame oil, pepper, salt and garlic in a small bowl. Once quinoa is cooled, mix cranberries, walnuts, onion and quinoa together, then add dressing and toss until evenly coated.

This is a perfect protein filled lunch to take to work alone or to throw on top of a salad! Add a little lemon juice for some extra tang.

Leave a Reply

