I am not a vegan… and heres why!

Yesterday started out strange…

great 7 am yoga class!

great 1/2 hour treadmill workout!

followed by… a weird funk. I got really down on myself for about an hour, but finally snapped out of it when I got to work. Thanks work, for being so awesome!

After work, I headed to a dinner with some friends for Restaurant Week… yum. My college friends are still a little confused by my food and beverage choices (I’m not a big drinker, but I was in college). They, along with many other people in my life, assume that since I eat lots of fruits and veggies and not a lot of meat, I must be a vegan. Well friends, I’m not! And last night, I proved it. I tried a few bites of my friend’s venison entree… and it was delicious!

I have often toyed with the idea of becoming vegan, and definitely cook a lot of vegan food in my own kitchen (carrot cake muffins anybody?). I guess technically in my own house I pretty much am a vegan… I never cook with butter, I don’t drink milk, and cooking meat kind of grosses me out. Apart from the occasional salmon burger, I guess you could call me vegan by default. There are a few reasons why I think that diet isn’t for me though..

WHY I AM NOT VEGAN:

1. I lack the social consciousness that most vegans have that deters them from animal products.

2. I am extremely active and sometimes I crave animal protein.

3. I am adventurous.. and sometimes you just have to try that bite of venison! (like I did last night. It was delicious!)

4. I don’t do well with rules.

poor little deer... thanks for dinner!

If you are considering a vegan diet, whether for health reasons or because you care about animals more than I do (I’m terrible, I know), here are a few resources to check out for recipe and lifestyle tips:

http://www.peasandthankyou.com -Mama Pea is a really witty writer, so her posts are not only fun to read, but she has some really delicious recipes. I’ve made the Pumpkin Spiced Roasted Chickpeas more than once. She also has tips for how to live a vegan lifestyle without making your life too difficult!

http://www.ohsheglows.com -Angela comes up with some pretty easy to follow recipes, along with some useful health tips.

The Kind Diet- Alicia Silverstone gives an amazing background to why she is a vegan and how it has changed her life, and the back half of the book is dedicated to some recipes I’m sad I lived without for so long. Although some recipes call for ingredients that many people may not have even heard of, she makes veganism accessible to anyone. I think what I appreciated most was that I felt inspired to try new ingredients and have since incorporated things like mochi and kabocha squash into my diet.

Well, now that I’ve finished my salmon burger.. I think its time for a shower!

2 thoughts on “I am not a vegan… and heres why!

  1. I like your way of following what you want to eat rather than a set of rules. I’m definitely more on the carnivore side than the vegan side of the spectrum, although after living with a vegetarian for a few months I learned that meat does not have to be the base for every single meal. It’s been hard to let go of my flank steak fajitas though.

    • aw, so glad you like it! i tried making ‘rules’ for myself and it never worked! honestly, i think the best way to go is just to listen to your body… if you’re really in tune it will tell you exactly what it wants!

Leave a Reply

